Comparison, as of November 2026
Website and server monitoring compared
There is no best monitoring tool, only the one that fits: for uptime from outside, UptimeRobot or HetrixTools are enough; Checkmk and Zabbix are built for networks and hardware, Datadog for large environments; and inping combines uptime, server agent, vulnerabilities and page changes for teams that run web applications. Every fact below is linked to its source, including where others can do more than we can.
At a glance
Who covers which area?
Six areas, nine tools. The graphic shows what the vendors state themselves, not how well it works.
| Tool | Uptime | Agent | Vulnerabilities | Page changes | Logs | Status page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| inping | stated | stated | stated | stated | stated | stated |
| UptimeRobot | stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | stated |
| Better Stack | stated | partly stated | not stated | not stated | stated | stated |
| HetrixTools | stated | stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | stated |
| Oh Dear | stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | stated |
| Checkmk | partly stated | stated | not stated | not stated | stated | not stated |
| Zabbix | stated | stated | not stated | not stated | stated | not stated |
| Uptime Kuma | stated | partly stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | stated |
| Datadog | stated | stated | stated | not stated | stated | stated |
Features
What the tools monitor
On small screens, the table can be scrolled sideways.
| Tool | Uptime | Server agent | Vulnerabilities | Page changes | Logs | Status pages | Alert channels |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| inping | HTTP(S) only, from several locations, from 60 s (Free) or 30 s (Pro) Features | Linux, macOS, FreeBSD, Windows, Docker; read-only Integration | Packages and runtimes from lock files and the host, checked daily against OSV and endoflife.date Advisories | Text diff per page, new pages from the sitemap Features | Logs, errors and traces through the Sentry SDKs Features | Yes, with your own logo and your own domain Features | Email and signed webhook Features |
| UptimeRobot | HTTP, port, ping, keyword; DNS, SSL, domain, API from Solo; 30 s from Team Source: uptimerobot.com/pricing.md As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Yes, 3 status pages from Solo Source: uptimerobot.com/pricing.md As of November 2026 | Integrations, including Slack from Solo; SMS and voice credits from Solo Source: uptimerobot.com/pricing.md As of November 2026 |
| Better Stack | Monitors, heartbeats, Playwright checks Source: betterstack.com/uptime,Better Stack, comparison page As of November 2026 | Infrastructure metrics, Prometheus-compatible; own agent not described on the pages checked Source: Better Stack, metrics,Better Stack, comparison page (metrics) As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Yes, logs and traces with retention by bundle Source: betterstack.com/pricing As of November 2026 | Yes Source: Better Stack, comparison page As of November 2026 | Email and Slack; phone and SMS unlimited with a responder licence Source: Better Stack, comparison page As of November 2026 |
| HetrixTools | HTTP(S), ping, port, SMTP, heartbeat; 1 minute Source: HetrixTools, website monitor As of November 2026 | Linux, Windows, macOS; CPU, RAM, disks, network, RAID Source: HetrixTools, server monitor As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Yes, on all plans Source: HetrixTools, uptime As of November 2026 | Email, SMS, phone call, Slack Source: HetrixTools, uptime As of November 2026 |
| Oh Dear | Uptime, SSL, ping, TCP port, DNS, domain; every minute Source: ohdear.app/pricing As of November 2026 | not stated (ping and TCP port for servers) Source: ohdear.app/pricing As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated (crawl for broken links, Lighthouse) Source: ohdear.app/pricing,Oh Dear, comparison page As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Yes, on all plans Source: ohdear.app/pricing As of November 2026 | Slack, email, SMS, webhooks and others Source: ohdear.app/features/gdpr As of November 2026 |
| Checkmk | HTTP check as an active check; Synthetic Monitoring as an add-on Source: Checkmk manual, HTTP check,checkmk.com/pricing As of November 2026 | Yes, plus SNMP; over 2,000 integrations Source: Checkmk Community,Checkmk, network As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Yes, with the agent plug-in mk_logwatch Source: Checkmk manual, logs As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Rule-based notifications, including through an SMS script Source: Checkmk manual, alerts As of November 2026 |
| Zabbix | HTTP(S) web scenarios with several steps Source: Zabbix manual, web As of November 2026 | Yes, plus SNMP, IPMI, JMX, VMware Source: Zabbix manual, features As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Yes, log files through the agent Source: Zabbix manual, logs As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Email, SMS, script, webhook Source: Zabbix manual, media types As of November 2026 |
| Uptime Kuma | HTTP(S), TCP, keyword, JSON, WebSocket, ping, DNS, push, Docker; 20 s Source: GitHub, Uptime Kuma As of November 2026 | Docker containers as a check type; server metrics not stated Source: GitHub, Uptime Kuma As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Yes, several, also on your own domain Source: GitHub, Uptime Kuma As of November 2026 | Over 90 services, including Telegram, Discord, Slack, email Source: GitHub, Uptime Kuma As of November 2026 |
| Datadog | Synthetic Monitoring: API and browser tests, API from US$5 per 10,000 runs Source: Datadog docs, Synthetics,datadoghq.com/pricing As of November 2026 | Yes, over 1,000 integrations Source: datadoghq.com/pricing As of November 2026 | For hosts and containers on the Enterprise plan, from US$23 per host Source: datadoghq.com/pricing As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Yes, ingestion from US$0.10 per GB Source: datadoghq.com/pricing As of November 2026 | Yes, Status Pages Source: Datadog docs, Status Pages As of November 2026 | On-Call and Incident Management Source: Datadog, Incident Management As of November 2026 |
Cost and hosting
Price, hosting, seat and data location
The entry prices measure different things: per monitor, host, service, responder or team. So compare with your own quantities.
| Tool | Entry price | Free to use | Hosting | Company seat | Data location | DPA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| inping | Pro €10 a month plus VAT, one price for the whole team Pricing | Free for good: 1 project, 10 URLs and 25 pages per project, 2 agents, 1 own runner Pricing | SaaS; agent and runner also run on your own hardware Integration | medienakzent, Konstanz, Germany Imprint | Platform on servers in the EU; payment through the reseller Paddle (UK) Privacy | Yes, DPA under Art. 28 GDPR DPA |
| UptimeRobot | Solo from around €10 or US$12 a month (10 monitors, 60 s); amount depends on region and payment method Source: uptimerobot.com/pricing.md,uptimerobot.com/pricing As of November 2026 | 50 monitors, 5 minutes, 1 basic status page, 5 integrations Source: uptimerobot.com/pricing.md As of November 2026 | SaaS Source: UptimeRobot Knowledge Hub As of November 2026 | UptimeRobot s. r. o., Bratislava, Slovakia Source: uptimerobot.com/dpa As of November 2026 | Several locations worldwide possible, including USA and EU; individual databases in Frankfurt Source: uptimerobot.com/dpa As of November 2026 | Yes Source: uptimerobot.com/dpa As of November 2026 |
| Better Stack | Responder US$34 a month, US$29 when paying annually; telemetry extra Source: betterstack.com/pricing As of November 2026 | 10 monitors, 10 heartbeats, 1 status page, 3 minutes, email and Slack Source: Better Stack, comparison page As of November 2026 | SaaS Source: betterstack.com/pricing As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 | Default: EU regions, data centres with DIN ISO/IEC 27001 Source: betterstack.com/security As of November 2026 | Yes Source: betterstack.com/security As of November 2026 |
| HetrixTools | Professional from US$9.95 a month Source: HetrixTools, pricing As of November 2026 | 15 uptime and 15 server monitors, 1 minute; login required every 90 days Source: HetrixTools, pricing,HetrixTools, uptime As of November 2026 | SaaS; agents on your own server Source: HetrixTools, server monitor As of November 2026 | HetrixTools, Inc.; address not stated Source: HetrixTools, terms As of November 2026 | not stated (“own infrastructure”, no country named) Source: HetrixTools, GDPR As of November 2026 | not stated As of November 2026 |
| Oh Dear | €15 a month for 2 websites, plus VAT Source: ohdear.app/pricing As of November 2026 | No permanent free plan; 10-day trial without a credit card Source: ohdear.app/pricing As of November 2026 | SaaS Source: ohdear.app/pricing As of November 2026 | Immutable VOF, Berlaar, Belgium Source: ohdear.app/privacy As of November 2026 | Main data in Belgium at Combell; check nodes and backups also at AWS, DigitalOcean Source: ohdear.app/features/gdpr,ohdear.app/subprocessors As of November 2026 | Yes, for every customer Source: Oh Dear, FAQ on the DPA As of November 2026 |
| Checkmk | Pro from €190 a month when paying annually, around 3,000 services Source: checkmk.com/pricing As of November 2026 | Community: free for good, GPLv2, recommended for around 100 hosts Source: checkmk.com/pricing,Checkmk, editions,Checkmk Community As of November 2026 | Self-hosted or as Checkmk Cloud (SaaS) Source: checkmk.com/pricing As of November 2026 | Checkmk GmbH, Munich Source: checkmk.com/imprint As of November 2026 | Self-hosted: with you. Cloud: AWS Frankfurt or N. Virginia, your choice Source: checkmk.com/pricing As of November 2026 | Yes, for Checkmk Cloud Source: Checkmk, DPA (PDF) As of November 2026 |
| Zabbix | Software €0; Zabbix Cloud from €50 a month; Silver support €245 a month Source: zabbix.com/subscriptions As of November 2026 | Software with no licence fee or device limit, AGPLv3 from 7.0 Source: zabbix.com/subscriptions,zabbix.com/license As of November 2026 | Self-hosted or as Zabbix Cloud Source: zabbix.com/subscriptions As of November 2026 | Zabbix SIA, Riga, Latvia Source: zabbix.com/contact As of November 2026 | Self-hosted: with you. Cloud: region chosen by the customer; account data in the EU Source: Zabbix Cloud, privacy As of November 2026 | not stated (no dedicated DPA found for the cloud) Source: Zabbix Cloud, privacy As of November 2026 |
| Uptime Kuma | €0, server costs and working time on you Source: GitHub, Uptime Kuma As of November 2026 | Complete, MIT licence Source: GitHub, Uptime Kuma As of November 2026 | Self-hosted (Docker or Node.js) Source: Uptime Kuma, installation As of November 2026 | not stated (open source project with no vendor named) Source: GitHub, Uptime Kuma As of November 2026 | On your own server Source: GitHub, Uptime Kuma As of November 2026 | not stated (self-hosted, no vendor) Source: GitHub, Uptime Kuma As of November 2026 |
| Datadog | Infrastructure Pro from US$15 per host a month when paying annually Source: datadoghq.com/pricing As of November 2026 | Up to 5 basic hosts, 1 day of metric retention Source: datadoghq.com/pricing As of November 2026 | SaaS, agent on your own host Source: datadoghq.com/pricing As of November 2026 | Datadog, Inc., New York, USA Source: Datadog, Form 10-K (SEC) As of November 2026 | Site of your choice, including EU1 in Germany Source: Datadog docs, sites As of November 2026 | Yes Source: Datadog, DPA As of November 2026 |
Decision
How to choose in five questions
- What should be monitored? Only availability from outside, the server from inside as well, or whole networks with switches and hardware? This is what separates the tools most.
- Who runs the monitoring? Self-hosted, you have full control and all the work, including the question of who monitors the monitor. Hosted, you pay for it and trust a vendor.
- Where is the data, and is there a DPA? The company seat alone says little. Check the data location, the sub-processors and the data processing agreement (DPA). The decision and the responsibility stay with you.
- How should alerts reach you? Are email and webhook enough, or do you need phone calls, SMS and on-call schedules? inping alerts only by email and webhook.
- How does the price grow? Per monitor, per host, per service, per responder or as a team price: calculate with your numbers a year from now, not with the entry price.
If not inping
When another tool fits better
Honestly, inping is not the first choice for these jobs.
- Plain uptime from outside, many check types UptimeRobotorHetrixTools
- On-call service with phone alerts and schedules Better Stack
- Website quality: broken links, Lighthouse, cron Oh Dear
- Network, SNMP, hardware, on-premises CheckmkorZabbix
- Free and fully self-hosted, uptime only Uptime Kuma
- Large environment with APM and over 1,000 integrations Datadog
One to one
inping or ...?
- inping vs UptimeRobot Hosted uptime monitoring with a large free plan and many check types. No server agent stated.
- inping vs Better Stack Uptime, on-call with phone alerts, logs and metrics from one vendor, billed per responder and data volume.
- inping vs HetrixTools Uptime and a server agent even on the free plan, plus blacklist monitoring. Data location and DPA not stated.
- inping vs Oh Dear Website monitoring from Belgium with a crawl for broken links, Lighthouse and cron, without a permanent free plan.
- inping vs Checkmk IT monitoring from Munich for servers and networks, self-hosted or as a cloud service, with SNMP and over 2,000 integrations.
- inping vs Zabbix Open-source monitoring from Riga with no licence costs or device limit, with SNMP, IPMI and JMX. Self-hosted or as a cloud service.
- inping vs Uptime Kuma Free, self-hosted uptime monitoring with many check types and over 90 notification services.
- inping vs Datadog Observability platform for large environments with over 1,000 integrations, billed per host and data volume.
Questions
Frequently asked questions about the comparison
Which server monitoring is GDPR-compliant?
There is no blanket answer, because it depends on how you use it. Compare data location, sub-processors and DPA in the table. Self-hosted software such as Checkmk, Zabbix or Uptime Kuma gives you control over the location; inping runs the platform on servers in the EU and offers a DPA under Art. 28 GDPR. Responsibility stays with you.
Which tool has the best free plan?
It depends on the goal. UptimeRobot states 50 monitors at 5 minutes, HetrixTools 15 uptime monitors with 15 agents at 1 minute, inping 1 project with 10 URLs at 60 seconds and 2 agents. Uptime Kuma, Checkmk Community and Zabbix are free as self-hosted software.
What can inping not do?
inping checks uptime over HTTP(S) only, so no ping, no ports and no SNMP. Alerts go by email and signed webhook, not by phone or SMS. The platform cannot be self-hosted; only agent and runner run on your side.
Why is a particular vendor missing?
The selection is not a judgement. We have not yet included Pingdom, StatusCake, updown.io and Uptrends. We add vendors as soon as all the information can be backed up from their own pages.
More on our own offer: all features of inping, the plans and GDPR server monitoring.