inping vs UptimeRobot: an alternative compared
UptimeRobot checks from outside, inping from inside too: agent, vulnerabilities and page changes. When each tool fits, backed by linked vendor sources.
Last checked on
UptimeRobot is the obvious choice if you only want to check availability from outside and need many monitors or check types such as ping, port or DNS for it; inping is the alternative if the server, its packages and the content of its pages should be monitored as well.
Is UptimeRobot based in the EU?
Formally, yes: the contracting party in the data processing agreement (DPA) is UptimeRobot s. r. o. in Bratislava, Slovakia. So inping would not differ as an “alternative from the EU” by where the company is based. The difference lies in the data location: UptimeRobot’s DPA allows processing at several locations worldwide, including the USA and the EU, and lists Frankfurt for individual databases. inping runs the platform on servers in the EU.
What that means for your own assessment is for you to decide from both contracts. In both cases, responsibility for the legal basis stays with you as the controller.
Where is the functional difference?
UptimeRobot describes itself as a hosted platform that checks websites, APIs, ports, ping, certificates, domains, DNS and cron jobs from outside. inping’s uptime checks, by contrast, are HTTP(S) only: inping does not check a port or a ping.
In return, inping runs a read-only agent on the server. It reports CPU, memory, disks and Docker services, reads the installed packages and has them checked daily against the OSV database. UptimeRobot names no comparable agent on the pages we checked.
How do the free plans differ?
UptimeRobot offers 50 monitors at a 5-minute check interval, including ping and port monitors. inping offers 1 project with 10 URLs at a 60-second check interval plus 2 agents, but HTTP(S) only. UptimeRobot is ahead on the number of monitors; inping checks at a shorter interval and also reads servers.
inping and UptimeRobot at a glance
| Feature | inping | UptimeRobot |
|---|---|---|
| Uptime | HTTP(S) only, from several locations, from 60 s (Free) or 30 s (Pro) Features | HTTP, port, ping, keyword; DNS, SSL, domain, API from Solo; 30 s from Team Source: uptimerobot.com/pricing.md As of November 2026 |
| Server agent | Linux, macOS, FreeBSD, Windows, Docker; read-only Integration | not stated As of November 2026 |
| Vulnerabilities | Packages and runtimes from lock files and the host, checked daily against OSV and endoflife.date Advisories | not stated As of November 2026 |
| Page changes | Text diff per page, new pages from the sitemap Features | not stated As of November 2026 |
| Logs | Logs, errors and traces through the Sentry SDKs Features | not stated As of November 2026 |
| Status pages | Yes, with your own logo and your own domain Features | Yes, 3 status pages from Solo Source: uptimerobot.com/pricing.md As of November 2026 |
| Alert channels | Email and signed webhook Features | Integrations, including Slack from Solo; SMS and voice credits from Solo Source: uptimerobot.com/pricing.md As of November 2026 |
| Entry price | Pro €10 a month plus VAT, one price for the whole team Pricing | Solo from around €10 or US$12 a month (10 monitors, 60 s); amount depends on region and payment method Source: uptimerobot.com/pricing.md,uptimerobot.com/pricing As of November 2026 |
| Free to use | Free for good: 1 project, 10 URLs and 25 pages per project, 2 agents, 1 own runner Pricing | 50 monitors, 5 minutes, 1 basic status page, 5 integrations Source: uptimerobot.com/pricing.md As of November 2026 |
| Hosting | SaaS; agent and runner also run on your own hardware Integration | SaaS Source: UptimeRobot Knowledge Hub As of November 2026 |
| Company seat | medienakzent, Konstanz, Germany Imprint | UptimeRobot s. r. o., Bratislava, Slovakia Source: uptimerobot.com/dpa As of November 2026 |
| Data location | Platform on servers in the EU; payment through the reseller Paddle (UK) Privacy | Several locations worldwide possible, including USA and EU; individual databases in Frankfurt Source: uptimerobot.com/dpa As of November 2026 |
| DPA | Yes, DPA under Art. 28 GDPR DPA | Yes Source: uptimerobot.com/dpa As of November 2026 |
When is UptimeRobot the better choice?
- You need ping, port or DNS checks, so more than HTTP(S).
- You want SMS or voice alerts; UptimeRobot lists credits for them from the Solo plan, inping alerts by email and webhook.
- You want to get by without installing anything on the server and measure only from outside.
- You need integrations such as Slack directly in the product rather than through your own webhook.
When does inping fit better?
- You want to see CPU, memory, disks and Docker services in the same tool as availability.
- Known vulnerabilities in PHP, Node or host packages should be reported.
- Changed or newly added pages should stand out with a text diff.
- You want to measure from your own hardware: the runner is a free download.
Frequently asked questions
Is inping cheaper than UptimeRobot?
It depends on what you need. UptimeRobot states around €10 or US$12 a month for Solo with 10 monitors; inping Pro costs €10 a month plus VAT and covers 5 projects with 25 URLs each at 30 seconds. The amounts are close, so compare what each includes, and keep in mind that inping checks HTTP(S) only.
Can I switch from UptimeRobot to inping?
Yes, but manually: inping offers no dedicated import from UptimeRobot. You create the URLs again per project; inping’s API helps with many entries. Ping and port monitors have no equivalent in inping.